Aust Bookplate Design Awards

10/03/2016 -


Opening night Friday 10th March. Exhibition of over 350 ‘Ex Libris’ from the 2015, 5th biennial Australian Bookplate Design Awards announced in December 2015.

This award has prizes totalling $15,000 and is the richest bookplate design award in the world. Bookplates or Ex Libris are a fascinating art form that has engaged artists, book lovers and collectors for centuries. The exhibition includes winning designs from multiple categories including the overall winner Geoffrey Ricardo (Etching and Aquatint) and International section winner Rumen Nistorov from Romania. Winners in other categories on exhibit include Megan Fisher, Janie Frith and Jeremy Thorpe.

This years exhibition includes entries from Australia, Norway, USA, Italy, France, Bulgaria & India. The Keith Wingrove Memorial Trust conducts The Australian Bookplate Design Award, among Australian and international artists, graphic designers and students.The purpose of the competition is to increase interest in and to attract publicity to the artistic value of bookplates. Although the competition is referred to as “Australian”, the 2015 Design Awards included a prize category for International artists for the first time. There are other prizes for specific types of bookplates and for designs by primary and secondary school students.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email